Castleknock College Union

AGM 2020 and Union Committee 2021

Dec 3, 2020
AGM 2020 and Union Committee 2021 -

On the evening of Tuesday 1st December the Annual General Meeting took place. The format of the AGM was certainly unusual this year in what has been a highly unusual year for us all. Nevertheless the business of running our Union must carry on.

Due to the impact of the pandemic on the activities of the Union, the current President and the President-elect have reached an agreement that the following will happen:

• The President, Mr Johnny Lynch, will have his current term extended by a six month period until June 2021.
• The President-elect, Mr Patrick Farrell, will then take office that month.
• Patrick will serve as President until the AGM held in December 2022.

In order for these changes to be in harmony with our Union Rules, an amendment was drafted and presented to the attendees at the AGM. This was passed unanimously and has now been incorporated into our Rules. The wording of the amendment states that it is temporary and will be automatically deleted from our Rules at the conclusion of the AGM in 2022. The situation will then revert to 12 month terms in accordance with the traditional procedure.

Mr Ian Garrigan and Mr Cian McGoldrick will continue in their respective roles of Hon. Treasurer and Hon. Secretary. Each was re-elected for a second term at the AGM. Mr Cormac Fagan remains in place as Junior President.

This has been a testing year for all of our pastmen in so many ways. We remain optimistic, however, that 2021 will offer us opportunities to return to socialising together again and to take part in events.

Pastmen seeking copies of documents circulated at the AGM may contact the Hon. Secretary by email at [email protected]


  class of  
President: Johnny Lynch 1993 email
President Elect: Patrick Farrell 1993 email
Junior President: Cormac Fagan 2012 email
Honorary Treasurer: Ian Garrigan 2009 email
Honorary Secretary: Cian McGoldrick 2014 email
Joint Honorary Secretary: Paschal Scallon, CM 1980 email
class of     class of  
Cian O'Doherty 2014 email Mark Curley 2006 email
Barry Walsh 1983 email Jonny Cosgrove 2006 email
Peter Cooke 2004 email Cronan O'Donnell 2004 email
Edward Melvin 1994 email Jack Hurley 2011 email
Cian O'Doherty  2014    email
College Headmaster: Chris Kinder email
  class of - term   class of - term
Fintan Cooney '84 2019
Oisín Quinn '86 2018 Paddy Shortall '56 2004
Colin Murtagh '83 2017 John Kearney '77 2003
Lorcan Tiernan '88 2016 Victor Stafford '61 2002
Conor McCarthy '84 2015 John Loughran '73 2000
Terence O'Rourke '72 2014 Michael Collins '74 1999
Colin Duffy '87 2013 John Fitzpatrick '63 1998
Conor Mallaghan '88 2012 Paul MacQuillan '76 1997
David O'Donnell '84 2011 Maurice Davitt '52 1995
David A. Bell '83 2010 Stewart Harrington '61 1992
Fergus O'Rafferty '69 2009 David Bell '38 1990
Kevin McGowan '63 2007 Patrick O'Callaghan '50 1987
Philip Halpenny '71 2006 Thomas J. O'Reilly '60 1986
Peter Quirke '68 2005 Joseph H. Downes '44 1982
class of - term   class of - term
Jack Hurley '11 2018-19 Keith O'Neill '01 2011
Ian Garrigan '09 2016-17 Warren Barry '03 2006-09
Stephen Connolly '04 2014-15 Brian Dunleavy '99 2004-05
Stephen Boyle '01 2012-13 Patrick Farrell '93 2001-03
Ciaran Brady '01 2011 Peter J. Harrison '92 2000