Castleknock College Union

Junior Cup Team Captains

1914 - 2016

May 1, 2000
Junior Cup Team Captains -

Leinster Schools Junior Cup

In 1909, rugby football was introduced as the premier field sport for seniors at Knock. Four years later it was decided that Juniors should also play the game, and so on the 27th February 1914 SVC played their first ever JCT cup match. Blackrock was the opposition and Knock won but fell in the next round to Andrew's. Undaunted SVC at the second time of asking won the 1915 Junior Cup, and went on to dominate the following decade with a further six victories. It wasn't though a harbinger of things to come for SVC have only won it once since, in 1966, and have been beaten finalists on a further nine occasions.

All such teams were led by a playing trio of Captain and two Vice-Captains. There was method in this, for if the captain was injured, it was the 2nd captain who led the team for the cup run, and if the captain was in the back line, then either the 2nd or 3rd captain was invariably pack leader or vice versa.

Listed below are the Captains who led the JCT from 1914 through to 2016.

Year Stage JCT Captain JCT Vice Captain 2nd Vice Captain
2016 1st Mellet, Max Doherty, Adam Wallace, James
2015 QF Corcran, Adam McGaley, Jamie Egenton, Cian
2014 1st Horgan, Jack O'Meara, Robert Connolly, Josh
2013 1st Donnelly, Stephen Boucher, Marc Murray, Gavin
2012 1st Healy, Anthony McHugh, Richard Peters, Patrick
2011 QF McEntagart, Sean Doddy, Cian O'Riordan, Niall
2010 2nd O'Neill, Jack Henry, Darragh Daly, Jason
2009 1st Gleeson, Rory Nalty, Paul Perry, Dylan
2008 1st O'Riordan, Conor O'Brien, Joseph Barnes, David
2007 1st Lacey, Sean Jones, Ross Brady, Adam
2006 Semi O'Shea, Jack Hafford, Samuel Moore, Marty
2005 1st Townsend, Liam Donnelly, Stephen McConville, Liam
2004 1st O'Riordan, Dermot Layden, Conor Boylan, Eoin
2003 Semi Collins, Brian Walsh, Tom Sheerin, Mark
2002 Final Mullen, Eoin Hickey, Alan Stapleton, David
2001 2nd Mullen, Eoin Flanagan, Eric Delany, Ciaran
2000 1st Hurley, Denis Flanagan, Alan Barry, Warren
1999 2nd Stafford, Gregory Byrne, Ciaran Rhodes-Vivour, Timi
1998 QF Manning, Colm Duffy, Patrick Mescall, Conor
1997 1st Lyne, John Guckian, Philip O'Reilly, Conor
1996 2nd Grimes, Dermot McDevitt, Bruce Fegan, Oliver
1995 QF Dixon, Alan Whitty, Andrew Murphy, Richard
1994 Semi Twomey, Barry Rennicks, Richard Nolan, Gerard
1993 2nd Murphy, Ian Fahy, Reamonn Grimes, Paul
1992 2nd Lynch, Cian Brown, Finbar Clarke, Oliver
1991 2nd Robinson, Bernard Cooney, Patrick Geraghty, Bobby
1990 2nd O'Reilly, Donal Dwyer, David Brady, Vincent
1989 1st Harrison, Peter J. Bell, Vincent Flood, Richard
1988 2nd O'Connor, Marcus Lunn, Barry Mullan, Peter
1987 1st Doyle, John King, Edward Forrest, Robin
1986 1st Tobin, Ross Woods, Frank Toland, Simon
1985 Semi McGowan, Donogh Murphy, Jonathan Lunn, John
1984 2nd Quinn, Oliver Morrin, Michael Fleming, Edward
1983 1st Egan, Mark Moore, Simon Conway, Joseph
1982 1st Brady, Peter Halpenny, Kieran Egan, Mark
1981 Semi Brady, John Keane, Peter Magee, Liam
1980 1st Fogarty, Joseph O'Dwyer, Michael Barrett, Thomas
1979 1st McGovern, Damien Carroll, Raymond Atkinson, William
1978 Semi Hickey, Donald Fitzsimons, James O'Dwyer, Patrick
1977 2nd O'Dwyer, Patrick Mason, Fergus McCann, Patrick
1976 QF Cotter, Jeremy Conway, Stephen Murphy, John
1975 Semi Geraghty, James Skuse, Peter Gallagher, John
1974 1st Conlan, Peter MacWhite, Mark Kinsella, Peter
1973 QF Molloy, James Loughran, Paul Murphy, Barry
1972 Semi Boyle, Basil Lyster, Liam Lynch, Daniel
1971 Semi O'Connor, Tom Cleere, Philip Desmond, Peter
1970 1st Gleeson, Mark Feighery, Aidan Dunne, Andrew
1969 2nd Clarke, Denis Walshe, Peader McDermott, Frank
1968 1st Cheevers, Thomas Faller, Dennis McDermott, Declan
1967 Semi Walsh, Michael Hay, Peter Martin, Alexander
1966 Cup Magee, John O'Dwyer, Liam Barrett, George
1965 Final O'Rourke, Bernard Hanrahan, David Delany, Martin
1964 2nd Durcan, Thomas Murray, Noel McMahon, Richard
1963 Final Hutch, Barry Grant, Terence O'Connor, Jeremy B.
1962 Semi Ince, Ralph Power, John Feighery, Conleth
1961 Semi Kennedy, Niall Mullan, Brian Ince, Ralph
1960 1st Dorgan, James Fitzpatrick, Niall Power, Hilary
1959 1st Kerley, Michael O'Connor, Tim Cheevers, Larry
1958 Semi Fuller, Stephen Bouch, Kevin Boylan, David
1957 1st Lalor, William Hogan, Roderick Fuller, Stephen
1956 1st Hyland, Dermot McManus, Ray Brereton, Brian
1955 Semi Curran, Noel O'Neill-Fitzsimons, T. Brogan, Michael
1954 Final Bourke, Patrick Shortall, Paddy Taylor, Brian
1953 Final Quinn, J.Oliver Brady, Richard Lyons, Robert
1952 2nd Bourke, John Griffin, Brian Curran, Eugene
1951 2nd O'Rourke, Francis Howlett, Brian Bourke, Aodan
1950 1st Quinn, Joseph N. Slowey, Harry Kelly, John
1949 1st Clyne, Simon Nestor, Jeremiah Brogan, Maurice
1948 Semi Nicholl, Peter H. Kelly, James Brennan, Denis
1947 QF McGettigan, John Hogg, David Kelly, Edward
1946 Final Masterson, Joseph Kilgallen, Cecil J. Casey, William
1945 2nd Domegan, Patrick Bennett, Michael Guerin, Brendan
1944 2nd McCabe, Peter J. Maher, Frank McCrohan, James
1943 1st Hopkins, Patrick Dodd, Thomas Brennan, Brendan
1942 1st O'Donoghue, Hugh N. O'Neill, Joseph S. Barniville, Harry
1941 Semi Dodd, George Browne, Patrick Sheils, John J.
1940 1st Swan, Gordon McAlinden, Joseph Duffy, Gerard F.
1939 1st O'Donoghue, Donal Moloney, Patrick J. Kelly, Henry
1938 1st Hinds, Godfrey Callan, Colum O'Rafferty, Emmet
1937 Final O'Rafferty, Liam O'Kane, Daniel Steen, Brendan P.
1936 Final McEntegart, James McCrystal, Francis Doyle, Desmond
1935 Semi Hinds, Gerald Flannery, Sean McLaverty, Sean
1934 1st O'Brien, Barry Slattery, Anthony Hynes, Joseph
1933 1st Murphy, Mervyn Ross
1932 1st Ryan, James G.
1931 Semi Brophy, Charles Ryan, James G. Murphy, Henry
1930 Semi Dwyer, Frederick C. Brophy, Thomas Brophy, Charles
1929 Semi Sinnott, Thomas McCormack, Francis Brennan, Patrick
1928 Cup Hopkins, Siggie Ryan, Michael K. McCormack, Francis
1927 1st Ryan, Richard O'Brien, Richard H. Casey, James
1926 Cup Marsland, James Waldron, Michael Casey, James
1925 Semi Grant, Gerard Marsland, James Maguire, Charles
1924 Cup Quinn, James H Tierney, Joseph Stafford, James F.
1923 2nd Lightfoot, Edward Murphy, William Brophy, Joseph
1922 Cup Linnane, Michael Power, William Sumerling, Francis
1921 Cup O'Donnell, Patrick J. Smyth, Dermot J. Grant, Desmond
1920 Cup Shortall, Leo Dunne, Michael J. Shelly, Myles
1919 Semi Hanrahan, Charles Cooper, Victor Fitzsimons, John
1918 Final Hanrahan, Charles Ryan, William J. Brennan, Alfred
1917 Semi O'Byrne, Michael Kennedy, Francis Kennedy, Peter
1916 1st Bolger, Patrick A. Condon, Gerald Kennedy, Francis
1915 Cup Sweeney, Joseph Brophy, Patrick Kennedy, John
1914 2nd Murphy, John Patrick Doyle, Raymond Hatch John