Castleknock College Union
Join The Union

Senior Cup Team Captains

1910 - 2016

May 1, 2000
Senior Cup Team Captains -

Leinster Schools Senior Cup

In 1909, much to the chagrin of students who then had an unrivalled reputation in association football, rugby football was introduced as the premier field sport at Knock. Three years later they entered the Leinster Senior Cup and won it at the first attempt, and thus far have made twenty-three appearances in the final, of which eight were cup winning runs.

All such teams were led by a playing trio of Captain and two Vice-Captains. There was method in this, for if the captain was injured, it was the 2nd captain who led the team for the cup run, and if the captain was in the back line, then either the 2nd or 3rd captain was invariably pack leader or vice versa.

Listed below are the Captains who led the SCT from 1910 through to 2016.

Year Stage SCT Captain SCT Vice Captain 2nd Vice Captain
2016 1st Birmingham, Cathal Gibbons, Sean Murray, Gavin
2015 1st McHugh, Richard Birmingham, Cathal McConville, Donal
2014 1st O'Sullivan, Jack McEntagart, Sean Hanlon, Tadgh
2013 1st O'Neill, Jack Henry, Darragh McCormack, James
2012 2nd Farrell, Thomas Mellett, Michael Perry, Dylan
2011 1st O'Riordan, Conor O'Brien, Joseph Farrell, Thomas
2010 QF Jones, Ross Reilly, Peter Toolan, Conor
2009 1st Heneghan, Daire Hafford, Samuel Connolly, Michael
2008 1st McConville, Liam Doherty, Cormac Ring, James
2007 1st O'Riordan, Dermot Barry, Conor McAlinden, Marcus
2006 QF Collins, Brian Walsh, Tom Louth, Darren
2005 1st MacKay, Sean Conway, Peter McKeon, Bryan
2004 1st Mullen, Eoin Flanagan, Eric Delany, Ciaran
2003 QF McCarthy, Shane Barry, Warren Morrin O'Rourke, Harry
2002 Semi Stafford, Gregory Flanagan, Mark Flanagan, Alan
2001 Semi Manning, Colm Reid, James Crawford, Simon
2000 QF Lyne, John Macken, Brian Harris, David
1999 QF Stafford, William McMenamin, John Geraghty, Richard
1998 QF Duffy, John Grimes, Dermot Fallon, Ronan
1997 2nd Robinson, Ted Geraghty, Roger Woods, Barry
1996 QF Grimes, Paul Fitzgerald, Brian Murphy, Ian
1995 Semi Langan, Adrian Murphy, Ian Feighery, David
1994 Semi Gunne, Niall Robinson, Bernard Woods, Mark
1993 2nd Farrell, Patrick Lynch, Johnny Keaveney, Andrew
1992 QF Harrison, Peter J. Hanlon, John Rowe, Patrick
1991 2nd Mullan, Peter Dooley, Cormac Doyle, Barry
1990 2nd Gunne, Patrick Wafer, Conor Kelly, Adrian
1989 QF Lowry, Conal Doyle, John King, Edward
1988 2nd Kenny, Philip Johnston, Cormac Lennon, Ronan
1987 1st McGowan, Donogh Quinn, Oliver Murphy, Jonathan
1986 2nd Fleming, Edward Byrne, Alan Walsh, Frank
1985 1st Healy, Aidan O'Neill, David O'Herlihy, Conal
1984 2nd Kelly, Ian Hearne, Richard Masterson, Philip
1983 Final Fogarty, Joseph Ward, Patrick Brady, John
1982 2nd Carroll, Raymond Rowe, Alan Downes, Vincent
1981 QF Ronan, David Sexton, Kenneth Lombard, John
1980 QF McCann, Patrick McHugh, Peter McCarthy, Conor
1979 1st Lyne, David Fuller, Michael Daly, Joseph
1978 QF Cotter, Jeremy Condon, Michael Murphy, John
1977 1st MacWhite, Mark Kinsella, Peter O'Flaherty, Kenneth
1976 Final Loughran, Paul Fuller, Brendan Conlan, Peter
1975 2nd Molloy, James Sexton, Jerry Murphy, Barry
1974 QF Boland, Barry O'Hanrahan, Tim Kearney, Michael
1973 2nd O'Sullivan, Patrick A. Lindsay, John Desmond, Peter
1972 1st Louth, Cathal Cunningham, Brian Feighery, Aidan
1971 QF O'Rafferty, Emmet McDermott, Declan Doyle, Brian
1970 1st Kelly, Patrick Cheevers, Thomas Hay, Peter
1969 1st Murphy, David Hay, Justin Hutch, John
1968 Semi Magee, John Kinahan, Kevin O'Rourke, John J.
1967 QF Hay, Vincent Durcan, Thomas Browne, Malachy
1966 SF Grant, Terence Cheevers, John O'Connor, Jeremy B.
1965 Cup Ince, Ralph McGrail, Michael Hutch, Barry
1964 1st Kennedy, Niall Clarke, Neill Ince, Ralph
1963 1st Kirwan, Paul Mullan, Brian Russell, Matthew
1962 Semi Bannigan, Michael Cheevers, Larry Dunne, Willie
1961 Final Fuller, Stephen Duggan, Alan Kerley, Michael
1960 Semi Murray, John Fuller, Stephen McGoldrick, Donald
1959 Cup Brereton, Brian O'Donnell, Francis Dowley, Leslie
1958 Semi O'Neill-Fitzsimons, T. White, Bernard Maguire, Paddy
1957 1st Bourke, Patrick Curran, Noel Cleary, Gerard
1956 2nd Quinn, J.Oliver Taylor, Brian Shortall, Paddy
1955 Final Barry, Matthew McGeough, Thomas Hardy, Gerard
1954 Semi O'Rourke, Francis Crotty, Thomas Raftery, Eamon
1953 1st Ward, Dermot Quinn, Joseph N. Howlett, Brian
1952 Final Austin, Conor Nestor, Jeremiah Hanna, Patrick
1951 2nd Walsh, Finbar Galligan, Liam O'Neill, Dermot
1950 Final O'Donoghue, Walter McKenna, Peter Nicholl, Peter H.
1949 Semi Shipsey, Roger Dowley, Robert McMahon, Desmond
1948 Final Cleary, Thomas Nestor, John O'Neill, Richard
1947 Cup McCabe, Peter J. Maher, Frank McCrohan, James
1946 1st Hopkins, Patrick Devlin, Brian Brennan, Brendan
1945 2nd FitzHarris, John Delahunt, Thomas Connellan, Edward
1944 Cup Carroll, Ray O'Donoghue, Patrick Brennan, Joseph
1943 1st O'Hagan, Henry O'Connell, Desmond MacQuillan, Noel
1942 Final Johnston, Francis Browne, John Carroll, Patrick J.
1941 1st O'Rafferty, Emmet Kavanagh, Desmond O'Donoghue, Donal
1940 Final O'Rafferty, Liam O'Donoghue, Paud Devaney, Alphie
1939 1st O'Rafferty, Liam Cosgrave, Thomas Murray, Oliver
1938 Final Lyons, Alex J. O'Donoghue, Sean Halpenny, Thomas
1937 Cup Lyons, Patrick Twomey, David Hynes, Joseph
1936 Semi Lyons, Patrick Twomey, David Hynes, Joseph
1935 1st Ryan, James G. Burke, Noel J. Dallas, William
1934 2nd Sweeney, Derry Ryan, James G. Brophy, Charles
1933 1st Brophy, Thomas Crealey, Brian Sweeney, Derry
1932 Semi Boland, Timothy D. Hughes, Edward Crealey, Brian
1931 Cup Hopkins, Siggie Sinnott, Thomas Luby, Gerard
1930 2nd Black, James J. Hopkins, Siggie Donovan, Timothy
1929 Final O'Leary, Michael J. Maher, John Ryan, Charles
1928 Semi Saurin, Michael Feeney, George Maher, John
1927 1st Lightfoot, Henry Mangan, Thomas O'Donovan, Donough
1926 Semi Lawler, Patrick J. O'Leary, James Maguire, Michael
1925 Final O'Reilly, Thomas A. Lightfoot, Edward Kehoe, Killian
1924 Final Toner, John O'Reilly, Thomas A. O'Driscoll, Alex
1923 Final Smyth, Dermot J. Grant, Desmond Maher, George
1922 Semi Shelly, Myles Fitzsimons, Jack Cavanagh, Denis
1921 Semi Farrell, James Cullen, Edward Ryan, William J.
1920 Cup Farrell, James Mahony, Walter G. McDonnell, Kevin
1919 Semi McKenna, John England, Bertie Jones, Edward
1918 1st Delaney, John McElligott, Edward J. X. O'Reilly, Charles
1917 1st Sweeney, Joseph Doyle, Ray Cullen, Joe
1916 Final O'Connell, Daniel F. Morrin, Frederick V. Johnson, Daniel
1915 1st Kelliher, Philip H. Murphy, John K. Hatch, John
1914 Semi
1913 Cup Thornhill, Michael Morrogh, Stephen Carroll, Jerome
1912 -- O'Neill, Desmond E. Kennedy, George P. Cleary, Michael F.
1911 -- O'Neill, Desmond E. Kennedy, George P. Kavanagh, John
1910 -- Donovan, Thomas K. Barry, Peter S. Filose, Nicholas