Castleknock College Union
Join The Union

Union of Irish Schools Golf Shield

8th Knock victory

Apr 27, 2012
Union of Irish Schools Golf Shield -

1950 Knock winners of the Shield

Heartiest congratulations to Cormac Nagle, class '68; Roger Coleman, class '69; Jonathan Boucher-Hayes, class '87 and Colin Duffy, class '87, our Union team who on the 27th April 2012 won the Union of Irish Schools Golf Shield for a record breaking eight time.

This is a foursome competition run between the past pupils of all the schools in Ireland, and competition is fierce as can be seen from the long list of participating Union teams - Belvedere, Blackrock, C.B.C.Monkstown, C.U.S., Castle Park, Castleknock, Clongowes, Clonkeen College, Colaiste Mhuire, De La Salle Churchtown, Glenstal, Gonzaga, High School, Kilkenny College, Kings Hospital, Marian College, Masonic, Midleton College, Mungret, Pres Bray, Pres.Glasthule, Rockwell, Roscrea, Sandford Park, St Marys, St. Conleths, St. Andrews, St. Gerards, St. Michaels, Synge Street, Templeouge College, Terenure, Wesley College.

Well done to the lads and they join august company for a quick glance back through the chronicles shows previous Knock winning teams as -


Congratulations to Stephen Conway, Jim Hamilton, Bryan Ryan and John Winston on winning the Union of Irish Schools Golf Shield at Milltown on Thursday April 18th. Castleknock has a very proud record in the competition having won it on 7 occasions. This is a record for any school but winning it on the centenary year of the Union was most appropriate. Well done lads.


Castleknock College Golf Union won the 1994 Union of Irish Schools Golf Shield which was played on the 14th April at Milltown. The members of the winning team were Stephen Conway, class '78; Jim Hamilton, class '50; Brendan Ryan, class '57 and Maurice Davitt, class '52. The College Union has won the shield on a number of occasions, the last success being in 1976. We offer our congratulations to the team.


Match report missing.


Last September, history was made again when Castleknock College regained the Union of Irish Schools Shield at Milltown Golf Club, Dublin after a dramatic finish, involving Castleknock, Clongowes, Gonzaga and St. Gerards, all four tied with one up. The conditions stipulate that in the event of a tie on the aggregate for two cards, the third card counts. The third card of one down by John Bolger and Jim Hamilton won for Castleknock. John Coleman and Brian Hegarty with one up and Niall Delaney and Alfie Devaney with all square had laid the basis for victory. The College celebrated the victory by a small dinner for the team and their captain, Frank Winston.


This year, as usual we had a team of six representing Castleknock in the Union of Irish Schools Shield at Milltown. We congratulate them on winning the Shield which is the third occasion Castleknock has been successful in this event. The winning team was as follows :— Messrs. Declan Winston, Frank Cosgrave, John Cooney, Ray Carroll, John Nestor and Leo Lynch.


We would like to congratulate the Castleknock Team on winning the Union of Irish Schools Shield at Milltown in September last. There is a very large entry for this Competition. Three pairs compete in foursome play and it is a very difficult competition to win. The successful team was as follows :—Sean Hanrahan, Hugh O'Neill, Alfie Devaney, Declan Winston, John O'Dwyer and Neil Delaney.


The six gentlemen grouped tastefully round a shield (cover picture) are the winners of the Irish Inter-School Golf Shield. The one in the middle holding the shield is James Moran, the doyen of the corps, and the others reading left to right from the back are Dom Cosgrave, Frank Winston, Ray Carroll, Martin Winston and Jack Arigho. We congratulate them sincerely, one and all, for this is the first occasion on which our Golfing Society has won this coveted trophy. This really beautiful shield at present reposes in the show case on the Chapel Corridor and we are grateful to them for presenting it to us.


The Union team also won the 1950 Schools Union Golf Cup, and that was for the eleventh time as Knock had previously won that cup in 1924, 1925, 1931, 1932, 1934, 1935, 1938 and the treble in 1944, 1945 and 1946.